New album ‘Senjutsu’ coming 9/3 (pre-order)


Iron Maiden: “Senjutsu”, new double album (and the 17th of the group) scheduled for 9/3 (pre-order)

September 3, Iron maiden will come back with Sentjutsu, the 17th studio album of the English heavy metal gods and the first in six years, after 2015 The Book of Souls.

The news was officially revealed on Monday, arriving shortly after the debut last week of a roaring new track titled “The Writing On The Wall,” which received an animated music video with its premiere:

As for Senjutsu, it was recorded in Paris with longtime group producer Kevin Shirley and co-produced by Steve Harris.

The album features 10 tracks, the shortest spanning four minutes and the longest over 12.5 minutes … so expect some powerful stuff:

1. Senjutsu (8:20)
2. Strategist (4:59)
3. The writing on the wall (6:13)
4. Lost in a lost world (9:31)
5. Days of the Future Past (4:03)
6. The time machine (7:09)
7. The darkest hour (7:20)
8. Death of the Celts (10:20)
9. The parchment (12:39)
10. Hell on Earth (11:19)

Click here to pre-order Senjutsu on 2 CDs from our Rock Cellar Store
Click here to pre-order Senjutsu on Deluxe 2-CD from our Rock Cellar Store
Click here to pre-order Senjutsu in 3-LP from our Rock Cellar Store
Click here to pre-order Senjutsu on the Super Deluxe box set from our Rock Cellar Store

Iron Maiden (Photo: John McMurtrie)

More on the album, through a press release:

For Senjutsu – loosely translated as “tactics and strategy”, the group once again enlisted the services of Mark Wilkinson to create the spectacular samurai-themed cover art, based on an idea by Steve Harris. Lasting just under 82 minutes, Senjutsu, like their previous record The Book Of Souls, will be a double CD / Triple vinyl album.

Harris: “We chose to record again at the Guillaume Tell Studio in France because the place has such a relaxed vibe. The configuration is perfect for our needs; the building was once a cinema and has a very high ceiling so there is excellent acoustic sound. We recorded this album the same way we did The Book Of Souls, which is we would write a song, rehearse it, then put it on right away while everything was fresh in our minds. . There are some very complex songs on this album that took a lot of hard work to get them exactly the way we wanted them to sound, so the process was very difficult at times, but Kevin is good at capturing the essence of the band and I think it was worth it! I am very proud of the result and can’t wait for the fans to hear it.

Singer Bruce Dickinson: “We’re all very excited about this album. We recorded it in early 2019 during a break from the Legacy tour so we could maximize our tour while still having a long pre-release prep period to put together some great album covers and something special as a that video. Of course, the pandemic has delayed things further – so much for the best-laid out plans – or should it be “strategies” !? The songs are very varied, and some of them are quite long. There are also a song or two that sound quite different from our usual style, and I think Maiden fans will be surprised – in a good way, I hope! “


About Author

Comments are closed.